Proud Boys Member Gets No Sympathy From Judge

( – A member of the Proud Boys who repeatedly disrupted his court proceedings got no sympathy when it came time to receive his sentence. The judge ordered the man to serve six years behind bars for his role in the January 6 Capitol riot as well as plans to lead a larger insurrection in Portland, Oregon. Prosecutors allege the man is among the convicted rioters who’ve shown the least amount of remorse for storming the Capitol Building and clashing with police in an effort to overturn Biden’s confirmation as president in 2021.

Marc Bru was found guilty of two felonies and five misdemeanors in October 2023. The Proud Boy chose to represent himself throughout his trial, although he had an attorney on standby. He started his defense by demanding the prosecutor and judge both hand over their financial records for the last five years. In response to the Chief Judge James Boasberg giving him a short break to talk to his lawyer, Bru called the official a “clown.”

Bru caused multiple disruptions in the courtroom, prompting the judge to threaten to kick him out if he refused to stop. Much of the defendant’s contempt appeared to include rhetoric related to the sovereign citizen movement, an ideology that says the government doesn’t have any authority over individuals who divorce themselves from it.

Bru’s is just one of the latest sentences Proud Boys have received for their part in the January 6 Capitol riot. Ethan Nordean, believed to be a leader in the organization, was sentenced to 18 years in September. That same month, Dominic Pezzola was given a 10-year sentence, and Enrique Tarrio, a former Proud Boys leader, received a 22-year prison sentence. Two other prominent figures, Joseph Biggs and Zachary Rehl, were given 17 years and 15 years, respectively, in September as well.

Over 1,200 people have faced charges resulting from the January 6 event according to the Associated Press. Over three-quarters of the defendants have either pleaded or been found guilty in court.

Copyright 2024,